Breath of Scented Air

Let me be honest and say that I have failed miserably in the last few days about doing something for myself.  I challenged people to do at least two things for themselves, but had been doing at least four things for myself daily.  I could give excuses and say that this has been a long week with all that life has thrown at me.  But that is the whole point of my challenge.  We spend most of our day doing for others and prioritizing their needs over our own. 

Eventhough I haven’t actually ‘done’ anything for myself, I have been thoroughly enjoying a gadget that I recently purchased during a school supply shopping spree.  At that time I was determined to buy myself at least one thing, and not having anything in particular in mind, I purchased a product that I turned my nose up at several times before.  The only reason I even gave it a second thought was because it was on sale for $6. 

Since that day, I have continued to pat myself on the back for $6 well spent.  I continue to look forward to enjoying it upon returning home from work.  I walk in the room, pause, close my eyes, enjoy and sometimes even smile.  What is it?  What is this $6 of joy?  One of those room freshners that work on a timer.  Yes, I’m talking about airspray!  The ‘luxury winter fragrance’ makes me feel so good.  It’s like Calgon without taking a bath.  Now I will say, when it is dark and completely quiet, that random spray sound startles the crap out of me. 

I’m a big believer, that it’s the little things in life that give us the greatest joy and this is definitely one of those things.  Every 2,160 seconds brings a renewed burst of  sunshine right in my room.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sidney
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 03:04:43

    HAHA! Yes, it is the little things – my father-in-law has one of those things in his family room and it makes me jump EVERY TIME it goes off. However, the room smells great. 😀

    Reply

  2. 86400andcounting
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 21:05:32

    Since writing this post, I’ve now purchased 5 more. I found a boxer set w/ 2 for less than $9. And then I enjoy the scent of the first one I purchased so much that I bought another one since it is part of the ‘winter luxury edition’. Hopefully I won’t become a room freshner hoarder. :-/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

