Crohn’s Challenge for a Cure

For my first time readers, this blog was birthed from my challenge to my Facebook and Twitter friends to do at least two things for themselves daily.  The reason for my challenge was out of a personal epiphany of how little I do for myself on a day to day basis.  My To Do lists, like most people I know, are filled with tasks that usually require you to do something for someone else.  Basically, take time out of each day to be selfish.  Out of the 86,400 seconds in a day, we all should be able to carve out a few of those seconds just for ourselves.  

One of my closest friends isn’t interested in taking on my challenge, but has taken on another personal challenge that involves helping others, but one that will have a huge personal benefit for him.  He is currently in a 16 week training program that ends in him running his first half marathon (13.1 miles).  Prior to deciding to do this marathon, the furthest he has run at one time is 2 miles which was when he was in high school.  So the benefits to him are obvious; he will benefit physically from the training but what is probably bigger than that will be the personal sense of achievement after accomplishing something many people are too scared to do. 

I mentioned that this challenge involves helping others.  Well this race is the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America’s Team Challenge Half Marathon.  The purpose is to raise funds and awareness for research leading to a cure for Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis which affects over 1.4 million Americans.  Usually when people choose to ‘champion’ a cause it is because the cause for which they are representing affects them personally (either they are affected or have family or a close friend that is affected).  Neither is true for him, which makes me really admire his decision in choosing this cause.  I have a best friend whose husband lives with Chrohn’s and I know the challenges they sometimes face.  Not only will I be supporting my friend in his efforts to raise money in hopes of finding a cure for Crohn’s and ulcerative colitis, but I will be cheering him on as he tackles a huge personal challenge head on. 

9,676,800 is the number of seconds in 16 weeks.  1,400,000 is the number of Americans living with Chron’s and ulcerative colitis. 

1 man……9,676,800 seconds……trying to help 1,400,000 people……while pushing himself to unchartered physical and mental limits. 

What are you doing with the 86,400 seconds you get every day?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Brandi Williams, APR
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 09:44:10

    Thanks for doing this. As you know Ventress and Colin suffer from this disease. I should have joined …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

