‘Twas The Night Before 1st Grade

‘Twas the night before first grade and all through the house,

The school boy was sleeping and quieter than a mouse.

Mommy was exhausted from a long day’s work,

Still annoyed by the rude students at tonight’s presentation that were being jerks.

The bookbag is packed with most of the requested supplies,

By the door awaiting for the morning and its owner to rise.

Ok, if I wasn’t so tired from a long day of work, going to 4 stores in an unsuccessful attempt to find a specific notebook, an event for work this evening, our nightly bedtime ritual, labeling supplies and packing the backpack, pre-loading the lunch box (which included writing my note to him that goes in the lunch box) and laying out the uniform, I would have written the entire post in the above format.  But my brain just won’t allow me to do that right now.

Superceding my exhaustion is my disbelief that summer vacation is over and it is the Eve of The First Day of School!!  I do vividly remember this night last year as I was very emotional about his first day of kindergarten (See: Milestones and Memories- http://tinyurl.com/3m3am43).  I am just as excited and emotional about this milestone in his life.  The journey in watching him grow and continue to develop his very unique and special personality continues to be an indescribable joy!  I am looking forward to hearing all about his big day tomorrow and really excited about his surprise tomorrow evening! 

If you read the post mentioned above and are wondering how I did when it came to singing our song….of course I cried. :’I

“I love you to infinity and beyond…

                                                      and then some……..

                                                                and then a lotta some”

                                                                                    ~Mommy & Son

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DAD
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 01:17:28

    Just yesterday Tyler was this tiny person in his ICN bed with a bright red light on his toe. Boy do I love that Grandson of mine.

    POP

    Reply

  2. Mom
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 09:28:21

    There’s nothing like our “Sugar Baby” Of course he’s the smartest First Grader in CMS especially since he’s reading The New York Times Newspaper!!!

    “Sugar”

    Reply

  3. Uncle Trey
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 06:11:38

    TJ’s the biggest lil’ man I know, and I wouldn’t trade him for the world. I love that boy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

